So pretty much it feels like I've walked all over China. We had arranged tours at the same place of the Great Wall I was last time. It was fantastic this time around :). We had 2 hours and climbed to the highest part, overlooking the astounding Chinese scenery. Also, let me just say right here: I officially apologize for whatever grammar mistakes I have in my English. Not only is my grammar despicable in English already, but has continuously gotten worse as I learn more Chinese. Because I am lazy and not a historian, you can find information about the Great Wall(actually called long wall in Chinese)here.

Ming Tombs

The ming tombs are a series of tombs dedicated to the emperors of China, started of course by the Ming emperor(hence the name). It's actually more of a somber park with a bunch of pine trees. Beautiful, but somber. Enjoy, it's a nice and completely lavish place.
Janet Kaemmerling
7/9/2011 04:49:52 pm

Jiefu, Perhaps the reason you are winded climbing the Great Wall is because the air you are breathing is so polluted! Really, take a look around you - burning coal puts all kinds of particulate matter into the air. The Chinese know this - why they choose not to go with all that hydro power they have stored in the Three Rivers Dam (Yangtze) is beyond me!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    This portion of my trip is where things get better; get interesting. I'm on my second wind in Beijing( a city I definitely prefer) and I'm ready to buckle down and learn some Chinese!

    Archives

    July 2011
    June 2011

    Categories

    All