So about 300 years ago the Emperor decided to build a temple in Beijing for the Dalai Lama. It as an amazing plethora of Hindu, Tibetan, and Mahayana Buddhism. At the end of the temple there is a buddha that is probably about 40 ft. high and carved out of one entire white sandalwood tree. It's ridiculous to even think of something like that let alone see it. Besides the giant Buddha they also have multiple rooms with multiple Buddhas. It's a great place and some great scenery.
After the Dalai Lama Temple we went on a 胡同tour. Hutong's are simply small alley ways that, in Old Beijing, were the conduits and sources of life. Nowadays, as development occurs and more modern things come to pass, these alleyways are now a historic monument to how people used to live in the old capital. With what meager photographic skills I have, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    This portion of my trip is where things get better; get interesting. I'm on my second wind in Beijing( a city I definitely prefer) and I'm ready to buckle down and learn some Chinese!

    Archives

    July 2011
    June 2011

    Categories

    All